Passing The Mantle On

Click to share the article


In 2018, a total of five National Service (NS) Commanders handed their command over to their successors in the various police divisions and units.

The Change of Command ceremony was held to commemorate the transferring of authority from the outgoing NS Commander to his incoming successor. This involves the handing of the Command Sword to the incoming NS Commander, who recited the Commander’s Oath.

On 1 October 2018, TransCom observed the most recent change of command ceremony with AC Koh Wei Keong, Commander TransCom, handing over the Command Sword from Outgoing NS Commander DAC (NS) Jonathan Wan to the incoming NS Commander, SUPT (NS) Nurizhamshah, who previously held the position of Deputy NS Commander TransCom.

In his outgoing speech, DAC (NS) Wan expressed his gratitude to TransCom PNSmen for their dedication, and urged them to continue serving the Force well. SUPT (NS) Nurizhamshah said that he would focus on the efficient management of the unit’s manpower, administration and welfare matters. He also expressed hopes to lead TransCom in achieving the Best NS Operational Ready Unit Award.

Clementi Police Division (D Div), Jurong Police Division (J Div), and Police Coast Guard (PCG) also observed their change of command earlier in 2018. Despite not having a change of command ceremony, Central Police Division (A Div) observed a change of NS Commander. The events were graced by their unit Commanders as Guests of Honour. SUPT (NS) Muhamad Azfar, SUPT (NS) Ham Yean Soon, DAC (NS) Darric Teo and DAC (NS) Patrick Fung took over command as the incoming NS Commanders respectively.